June 11th~Year 6, No 36

Catherine Huseman

Huseman Will Miss 28 years of Love In Action Caring for Nazareth Kids     

After raising ten of her own children, Catherine Huseman of Nazareth felt her skills were honed enough to take on  hundreds more in the Holy Family Mothers-Day-Out — a loving task that she has been doing for twenty-eight and a half years.  Her retirement this past week was filled with loving memories as she recalled moments of both joy and challenge.  Her staff, along with many of her past “kids” of the MDO, gave her a going away quilt with the words “We Love U” surrounded by dozens and dozens of signatures collected on the blanket.  Carla Hochstein will be inheriting the loving charge of the program this Fall.

When asked why she originally began in the program that was started over 30 years ago by Raelene Hoelting, she giggled and confessed that maybe it was part of the empty-nest syndrome since all hers were moving on with their adult lives. “I started with the babies at first, but my love for teaching arts-and-crafts drew me quickly to the four-year-olds. You would be surprised at how many homes I visit now and find on a shelf or wall one of my kids’ art projects — it warms me to have known I’ve had a hand in their lives, loves, and early education”, said Huseman.

RECIPIENT OF NAZARETH’S CARING OUTREACH

CELEBRATES 60 YEARS OF RELIGIOUS COMMITMENT

Regina Ronnie Juanita

Regina and Ronnie Hoelting join Sr. Juanita Albracht for her 60th Anniversary celebration in San Antonio’s Incarnate Word Motherhouse.

Sr. Juanita Albracht, an Incarnate Word Sister originally from Hereford, has spent much of her 60 years of Religious Commitment in taking care of homeless and terminally-ill people In Chimbote, Peru.  Through the encouragement of Ronnie and Regina Hoelting of Nazareth, the Lenten Alms of Holy Family Church have been donated to her ministry for the last two years. This year Sister writes: “I could never have imagined that the generosity of Nazareth would continue with such zeal. My joy was unlimited as I received the $11,000 Lenten Alms given in such kindness to our patients who are so in need. Our broken water main and its pump meant that we were without water for the last few days — and then God provided!  Thank you for being His instruments of grace.”

GOD BLESSED RAINS FINALLY ARRIVE!

The bountiful rains continued over the weekend adding to the wonderful accumulation of 6 to 8 inches in all directions around Greater Nazareth.  Unfortunately, the high winds that accompanied some of the storms took off the metal roofing on the Ball Family building in downtown Nazareth, felled many trees, broke numerous tree limbs, bent flag poles, and overturned dozens of center pivot sprinklers.  Many admirers of the local “playas” were super thrilled by the accumulation of water and amphibians filling the lakes.

PLAYA

     (The above photo is courtesy of our newest Nazareth

Community Intern, NISD High Student, Taylor Damron)

Bryce Betzen’s Valedictory:

 

“THE COURAGE TO

CONTINUE COUNTS”

bryce

NISD Valedictorian BRYCE BETZEN

 

                 I am honored to be the Nazareth Class of 2014’s Valedictorian.  I thank you for being with us through all of our ups and downs.  It takes a crazy group to put up with this wacky bunch, but I thank you for being crazy enough to stick it out with us. With only eleven of us, some might think that we would be the quiet class watching from the sidelines.  However, I am proud to say this is not the case. 

For example, all eleven of us will be attending college of our choice this fall, seeking promising futures for ourselves, and not one of us will give up on these goals. My classmates have striven for greatness and they have pushed themselves to the best of their abilities, and in turn they have accomplished so much and helped me to strive for my best. If it weren’t for my classmates’ immense competitive spirit, I would not be giving this speech today.  I learned to push myself past the limits because if I slipped up once, I knew I was going to be left in the dust.  I took this spirit and lit a spark in my soul. 

Also, I took a bible verse that my mother has taught me since I was a child to help push through the adversity and conflicts of life.  1 Corinthians 9:24 says, “Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but only one receives the prize?  Run in such a way that you may obtain it.”

I take this verse to mean that each of us must do everything we do to the best of our ability.  Why start something and never finish?  Why do something half-heartedly?  Why do something without asking God to be on our side?  I have tried to live by this verse, and I believe that this class has lived by it, as well.  We get done what we say we are going to do!  We might have struggles along the way, but we always pull through.  My class has overcome injuries, death to family and friends, teacher changes, bad relationships, and all the classes that we never thought would end, but we have always and will always overcome.

Great laughs have been produced over the years, many I cannot mention.  However, I will always remember Lane’s great elementary kickback skills, Macy and Abby’s tattoo artistry, Kyla’s vertical advantages, Lexie’s great pain tolerance, David’s sudden school disappearances, Rebekah’s made quiz finding skills, Vicente’s sweet singing abilities, Braden’s great snap chatting gift, and Treva’s unavoidable ability to be a secretary.  Anytime I hear the songs, “glamorous” or “1985” I will have to bust out in perfect harmony, and anytime the bass drops I will remember the countless times we drove around just killing time.  Texas country will always have a place on my iPod and the talks we shared through the years are what I will hold onto the most.  These talks ranged from A-Z.  It always started with us trying to pile everyone we could into The Brown Nasty (my beautiful pick-up).  We guys talked like we actually knew something about the ever so strange female, and we always managed to have a good time no matter what.  When I hung out with the girls I always got new gossip that had nothing pertaining to me.  Also, it didn’t matter what was happening, but the radio had to be blaring.  These are the times I will miss the most. 

After we leave today, we will no longer be together in school.  Memories will help us recall the times we had together, and they will never fade.  We will keep in touch, but it will never be as it is tonight.  We will go off to college to make new friends.  New relationships will form and a whole new chapter of our lives will open.  We will all gain a new definition of independence and we will unfortunately learn that our parents (most of the time) do know what they are talking about.  Mixed emotions of excitement, joy, reluctance, fear, and even sorrow run through the veins of each of us as we know that this is the last hurrah for the Nazareth Class of 2014.

But we must always remember Chris Tomlin’s  “Our God (I’ll try not to sing them): “And if our God is for us, then who could ever stop us, and if our God is with us, then what can stand against us?”  We will always have the power to overcome any obstacle that we face with the help of God.  We must now put all the knowledge and wisdom we have learned through our community, school, and churches into play as we progress into our future.

We will all face failures along the way, but there is something about failure that most people don’t talk about.  If you don’t have failures in life, then you aren’t trying.  Winston Churchill said, “Success is not final, failure is not fatal: It is the courage to continue that counts.”  Just because we make mistakes, it is not the end.  We discover one method isn’t working, so we try a new method.  When it fails, we try a third method.  When we bump into walls, feel along, walk in darkness, what can stand against us?  When we fall down, who could ever stop us from getting

 

back up?  When God is with us, how can we truly fail?  These are powerful words about an unknown future.  I know we all think we have it figured out, but I think of the phrase, “Want to make God laugh?  Tell Him your plans.”  Life has a way of taking detours along the road we’re traveling.  We don’t see these diversions on the map we’ve drawn for our future, but if God is for us, then who could ever stop us?  We keep failing until we succeed!  And yes, each one of us will succeed. 

It will not be easy to jump into a whole new aspect of life, but I know we can do it.  It is a huge relief to know that even if we don’t know what our future holds, our Heavenly Father does.  I would like to leave you today with the word of author Kris Vallotton, who says, “the Body of Christ is equipped to bring the kingdom of righteousness, peace and joy wherever we go.  We have love that causes people to know they are cared about.  We have grace that gives them the power to change.  We have mercy that picks them up when they fall.  We have courage that stands in the face of violence and brings peace, and we have wisdom that shows people how to live.  Most of all, we have the answers to the world’s problems.” I pray we all walk in this wisdom as we begin our new chapters of life.

I would like to thank you all again for the amazing support that you’ve given to each of us, and I know that this is not the end but the beginning. 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 2014 Newsletters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

